Organized Mind, using your designer rather than your artist

Artists and designers think alike. But designer’s are trained to organize information, not just express it. As I attempt to channel more of my designer mind as I clean up a studio more controlled by my chaotic and expressive artist mind I am really loving Ursus Wehrli’s obsessively categorized and organized work. I find I work very fluidly and more messy in my studio, yet in my kitchen everything has a place and function. The kitchen always looks the same as it did after I cook. In the kitchen an order is prescribed, without it timing gets off, recipes aren’t followed and disasters happen, most cooking accidents and disasters don’t make for a great meal, especially when baking. But in the studio there isn’t really a prescribed order and messes, accidents and chaos often result in wonderful work.

So as I try to find a balance and free up a small studio to more creative endeavors and less timely cleanup and prep I’ll keep referring to the visuals in Wehrli’s book “The Art of Cleanup“.

Ursus Wehrli "The Art of Clean Up"

Ursus Wehrli “The Art of Clean Up”

Ursus Wehrli "The Art of Clean Up"

Ursus Wehrli “The Art of Clean Up”

Ursus Wehrli "The Art of Clean Up"

Ursus Wehrli “The Art of Clean Up”

Ursus Wehrli "The Art of Clean Up"

Ursus Wehrli “The Art of Clean Up”

